Please join me in congratulating our brain bowl competitors.  Two out of three of our teams made it into the playoff rounds at Chipola, and one team brought home the trophy.  Our newest team members also performed admirably, winning one of their rounds as well.  

          Walker Strawn, JP Leonard, Donavan Ebersole, and Haileigh Pippin fought hard to win 1st place at the tournament.  Haileigh also placed 7th in individual scoring.
          Kyle Silsby, George Glass, Matthew Morrison, Skylah Obee, Trey Rollins, and Trent Woodham also made it into the playoffs.  Kyle Silsby won a trophy for 1st place in individual scoring.
          I believe that the newest members of our team are already addicted to this "jeopardy-like" academic tournament - Citlali Gutierrez, Hayes Strawn, Caroline Howell, Colby Tanner, Will McClellan, and Abigail Martinez.
          I should have reported last month that Donavan Ebersole, Matthew Morrison, Walker Strawn, George Glass, Kyle Silsby, and Hannah Plazarin attended the State Academic Challenge in Orlando, FL.  This was our first time attending such a high-level academic tournament, and the students represented Calhoun County well.  Unbeknownst to us at the time, this tournament is an FHSAA sanctioned event where state champions receive the FHSAA trophy and State Championship rings.  We have already begun preparing for next year's tournament.
          I am tremendously proud of their achievements, and look forward to working with them again next year.  
Amanda McGhee, Sponsor